Managing Your Gmail

posted Apr 30, 2015, 11:52 AM by Robert Kovi   [ updated Apr 30, 2015, 12:05 PM ]
Now that we have created dual delivery you will be receiving more mail in the wallingfordschools.org account than ever before. If you keep these emails in your Outlook Inbox they will be brought over to gmail a second time when we sync and transition email over the summer. You may not want all these duplicates. A simple solution is to delete or archive your mail. Deleting them sends them to Trash. This is easy to do en masse, by clicking the check box at the top left of your inbox to select them all. Then click the Trash can icon. Don't worry about emptying your Trash, Google does it for you. Yes, Google takes out the Trash for you. Too bad, it's only in Google Apps and not at home. Anything sent to Trash will be removed after 30 days.

"But wait!! I'm afraid to delete anything!! I'm the person that saves everything in my Inbox!!"

If you're this person, Google is prepared to be your new best friend. Unlike our current email, where storage of email is an issue, Google now offers each user unlimited storage for Google Drive, Gmail, and Picasa Web Albums.
This means you do not have to worry about deleting anything, simply archive it.

Archiving means these mail messages will be moved from your Inbox into an area called All Mail. Even though you do not see them every time you open your mail, they are there waiting for you to look for them. Simply, use Google's dynamic search and all of its advanced search features to find what you're looking for. Just type some search terms in the box at the top of the screen or click the arrow at the right side of the search box for more search options. See the screenshot below.

MYTH EXPOSED!!! - "I afraid of getting rid of any of those emails about shared items. If I delete them or archive them, will I lose access to them?"

You will NOT lose anything if you delete or archive messages that were sent to you regarding items that have been shared with you. These are simply notifications to let you know that someone shared something with you. You can delete them or archive them and nothing will happen to the documents. These documents will always be available in Drive. You can even create filters that will automatically label and archive them for you (I'll save details on this for another post). 

So, Get Busy Archiving, or Get Busy Deleting.


https://support.google.com/a/answer/139019?hl=en

Comments